LITTLE BIRD BIRTH SERVICES

I am so excited to finally announce the upcoming opening of my new business Little Bird Birth Services. This business will offer Birth Doula services as well as Birth Photography. I am currently in the process of creating a website and social media platforms with the launch date TBA.


Why Little Bird Birth Services?

While I was in nursing school, I was required to observe a prenatal class as part of our “mother-to-be” assignment. At this class, I met the family I would get to follow through their birth journey as well as meet both a Midwife and a Birth Doula. The Childbirth Education class that the Doula was teaching was very informative and insightful. We then got to practice some of the techniques they were teaching and I immediately felt comfortable in this role. After the class when I was thanking the Midwife and Doula for having me, they both urged me to take the Doula course. They both told me that I would make a great Doula and I should seriously consider it. I barely knew anything about what a Doula was, but when I got home I looked it up and was very intrigued. I didn’t know it then, but that evening was the start of my long dream of having my own Doula business.

When I was pregnant with Jackson I was discussing with my midwife about the possibility of hiring a Doula. Unfortunately we did not end up having one and I deeply wish we had. I think I would have felt a lot more confident and supported and my labor and delivery probably would have gone a bit smoother had I had a Doula there to support us. That being said, Jake truly was an amazing support, but I think both of us could have learned and remembered some very helpful labor techniques had we had a Doula there to coach and support us. This really is the main reason I wanted to start up Little Bird Birth Services. I want to support women throughout their pregnancy, labor and postpartum journey and ensure that they have the tools, techniques and feel informed and supported in their birth experience. My birth experience, combined with the Midwife and Doula who inspired me has pushed me to further my business plans. After doing some more research and enrolling myself into the DONA accredited Birth Doula course I am on my way to making my dream of having my own business a reality.

The birth photography aspect of Little Bird Birth Services is something I am very passionate and excited about. Labor and delivery is an overwhelming blur. For my own experience we were so focused on the action of having Jackson that we didn’t get very many pictures of the whole process. If I could go back in time, I would have hired a birth photographer in a heart beat. One moment in particular that I wished I had captured was when my Midwife stepped back and let me catch Jackson and bring him to my chest. It was the most magical, amazing experience ever and I seriously wish I had someone who was able to capture that image for me. For our next baby, I will be hiring someone to photograph our birth 100%. My intention is to capture these incredible moments for families while maintaining their privacy and tailoring the service to my clients. More about what the service entails is below.


What’s in a name?

Choosing a business name did not come easy for me. I have spent months throwing names out at Jake and one of my best friends, but there was always something that didn’t feel right about the names I was coming up with. I chose the term Little Bird because of Jackson–he is my little bird. Naming the business “Little Bird Birth Services” just felt right. It symbolizes the love I have for my son and the love all mama birds have for their babies.



Birth Doula Services

I will be taking my DONA approved Birth Doula course in early June and will then be taking clients.

Birth Doula Package One $550

Initial consultation
Two prenatal visits
Full labour & delivery attendance
Up to four hours postpartum care
One postpartum visit
24 hour on call/texting support
10 birth photographs

Birth Doula Package Two $850

Initial consultation
Two prenatal visits
Full labour & delivery attendance
Four hours postpartum support
1-2 postpartum home visits
24 hour texting/on call support
5 maternity photographs
15 birth photographs
Your choice of 4 newborn photos/nursing photos

My job as your Doula is to provide emotional, physical and informational support. It is not to replace your partner in anyway, but rather to enhance your birth experience by guiding you and your partner and providing techniques to you both to make your birth the best experience possible. I want you to feel that you and your partner achieved the birth you both envisioned. I am not there to perform any medical or clinical procedures, that is the role of your Midwife or Doctor. I support you in any choice you make regarding your birth. Here is the link to DONA’s website about the benefits of hiring a Doula. https://www.dona.org/what-is-a-doula/benefits-of-a-doula/



Birth Photography Services

Birth photography is tailored to you and your family’s wants/needs. My job is to document what is most important and memorable to you, and to never invade space. Privacy is maintained and respected at all times and YOU get to be in charge of the types of photos you want! For example, you can choose to have photos taken during active labor and then immediate postpartum phase right after and skip the “birthing/delivery” photos all together if that makes you more comfortable. Or, you may choose to have me document every aspect of your birth. I am tailoring this service to you, and it is most important to me that you feel comfortable and respected in such a personal space. I am comfortable around all things birth and babies, and I want you to feel comfortable as well.

This service is $600. I will be providing a guaranteed 60 photographs in black and white and/or color. Depending on the circumstances of how labor/delivery is, more images may be provided at no extra cost. A USB will be provided for you and your family. I will have a photography contract available soon and more information coming with the launch of the website. I am currently looking for a few families who would be willing to have their birth experience photographed for free to build my portfolio. Currently, I have openings in July, September and November 2017.

As for birth photography logistics, babies come basically whenever they want to, they can even arrive before scheduled induction rates. I will secure your due date and be checking in with you during the final last weeks of pregnancy. I will not be booking birth photography and/or Doula services for clients with due dates close together as I want to ensure that I am able to attend your birth. I request that you inform your doctor/midwife that you are planning to have your birth photographed so that we are aware of any rules/guidelines. I also request you confirm that the hospital or birthing center will allow birth photography and if there is any restrictions. I will do my best to work with these guidelines and provide you with excellent photographs to remember this special time.


I am so grateful and excited that I get to make my passion my job. Birth, Maternal care and babies bring me SO much joy. I am excited to work with my clients to ensure that they get the birth experience they imagined. Thank you to the clients who are allowing me into this journey to capture these moments for them, I am so incredibly grateful for that.

XOXO

Julia

Leave a comment